Children's Hospital Media and Press Relations
Department of Pediatrics Newsletter Archive
Pediatrics Faculty Selected for 2011 APS Membership
By Rex Perry
January 27, 2011

Kevin B. Johnson, M.D.,M. S., Scott Baldwin, M.D., and William Russell, M.D.

Three faculty members from the Department of Pediatrics are new members of the American Pediatric Society.  Scott Baldwin, M.D., director of the Thomas P. Graham Division of Cardiology,  Kevin B. Johnson, M.D., M.S., vice chair of Biomedical Informatics, and William Russell, M.D., director of The Ian M. Burr Division of Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes, are among 72 individuals chosen for APS membership in 2011.  

"Election to the APS is an acknowledgement that you have arrived at the top of your field," said Kathryn Edwards, M.D., director of the Vanderbilt Vaccine Research Program, and current APS council member. "It is one of the highest honors an academic pediatrician can receive. It means you have been chosen by the leaders in pediatrics to join others who are making the lives of children better through cutting-edge research."

The society selects leaders in pediatrics who have a well-established history of excelling as physicians, investigators, and scholars in advancing the health of children and youth. The APS will recognize new members at a joint meeting of the Pediatric Academic Societies and Asian Society for Pediatric Research beginning on April 30, 2011 in Denver, Colorado.  

American Pediatric Society/Society for Pediatric Research

Scott Baldwin, M.D.
Kevin B. Johnson, M.D. M.S.
William E. Russell, M.D.

Vanderbilt University School Of Medicine
Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.
Department of Pediatrics | 2200 Children's Way | Nashville, Tenn. 37232 | 615.936.1000
© 2019 Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Monroe Carrell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt