Children's Hospital Media and Press Relations
Department of Pediatrics Newsletter Archive
Faculty Selected for APS and SPR Membership
March 13, 2012

Faculty from the Department of Pediatrics have been selected as new members of the American Pediatric Society and the Society for Pediatric Research. Shari Barkin, M.D., M.S.H.S., the Marian Wright Edelman Professor of Pediatrics, Deborah P. Jones, M.D., M.S., and Gerald B. Hickson, M.D., the Joseph C. Ross Chair in Medical Education and Administration, are among 76 individuals chosen by the APS in 2012 for significant contributions to pediatrics.

"The APS honors extraordinary achievement in academic pediatrics," said Judy Aschner, M.D., Secretary Treasurer of the organization founded in 1888. "Nomination and election to the APS is highly selective and recognizes those who have advanced academic pediatrics and child health through research and scholarship, advocacy, and leadership."

Tracy Hunley, M.D., Nathalie Maitre, M.D. Ph.D., Steven McElroy, M.D., Sarika Peters, Ph.D., and Jill H. Simmons, M.D. have been selected by the Society for Pediatric Research as new members for 2012. SPR membership honors young investigators engaged in innovative research. The Society encourages the development of future leaders through training programs and forums for presenting ideas and publications.

The APS and SPR will welcome new members at this year's 2012 PAS meeting in Boston opening on April 28. The Department of Pediatrics is hosting a Vanderbilt reception at this year's meeting. Vanderbilt faculty, alumni, and friends are welcome at the reception on Saturday, April 28, from 7:30 - 9:30 p.m. at the Sheraton Boston Hotel.

Related Links

Vanderbilt University School Of Medicine
Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.
Department of Pediatrics | 2200 Children's Way | Nashville, Tenn. 37232 | 615.936.1000
© 2019 Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Monroe Carrell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt